Dean-O-Matic

Forest Inn Motor Court, Wilson, NC

with 3 comments

Forest Inn, Wilson, NC

Vintage postcard above borrowed from Cardcow.com

I have no idea when the Forest Inn opened or closed, but according to a 1985 article in the Hendersonville Times-News, it was a brothel in the seventies and a church in the eighties. The remains of the slowly decaying motel are on Highway 301, just south of Wilson, NC. Some of the cabins are still standing, but many of them seem to be gone.

Forest Inn, Wilson, NC by Dean Jeffrey

The first time I photographed the sign, back in 2002, it looked like this:

Forest Inn Motor Court, Wilson, NC, 2002 by Dean Jeffrey

In 2010, the sign was still there but looked like it was starting to fall apart and slide down the pole.

Forest Inn, Wilson, NC by Dean Jeffrey

About a year later, on the last 4th of July, the sign looked like it had fallen even more. I expect it’ll soon completely collapse under its own weight.

Forest Inn Motor Court, Wilson, NC by Dean Jeffrey

Written by Dean Jeffrey

July 7, 2011 at 11:19 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dean: I don’t know if you still read your comments for this blog, but I wanted you to know that I came across this and enjoyed your pictures and research. I actually have the old postcard that you reference at the top of the post, and I’d like to write about it on my blog, http://www.papergreat.com … Would it be OK if I used one of your photos of the sign from 2011, with credit, to accompany my post?

    Christopher A. Otto

    May 27, 2016 at 11:14 pm


Leave a Reply

